Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    redmangoose is offline Senior Member Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    193

    Default Your opinion on 20th century boys

    I just finished Monster and I must say it was the best anime I've ever watched.
    So I started on 20th century boys assuming it would equally as good as Monster; but sadly I'm not really enjoying it so far.
    So to those of you who have actually read the series from start to finish, do you think I should continue reading until I hit the gooey goodness? Or should I stop and read another manga more similiar Monster?

  2. #2
    Urameshi-sama is offline Senior Member Community Builder
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    9,172

    Default

    Yup, I do. Frankly, the beginning of 20thCB was utterly boring in comparison to when the plot finally took off (took nearly 5 vols). But the 5 volumes of wait are worth the dozens of following volumes that have you sitting at the end of your seat frantically reading.
    Stolen Sig Count: 26

  3. #3
    dashorama is offline Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    27

    Default

    I agree, you should read it, it was really great in my opinion.


    *Not really spoilers below but discussion on the ending so dont read the next bit if you havent finished the series yet*

    That being said, I don't want to turn this into a spoilers thread, but I'm curious what anyone who finished reading this series thought of the ending. I was a little confused personally. Did they reveal who "friend" was or are you supposed to just be making your best guess, or is it just not important anymore at that point or what? Lastly, did you like the ending?

    A webmanga about silly robots, sexy geniuses and a giant tree! read it RIGHT to LEFT

  4. #4
    Joeyt741 is offline Senior Member Respected Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    LI
    Posts
    593

    Default

    Yeah at first i didnt really like this series but i thought i'd stick with it because everyone kept saying how amazing it was and it does not dissapoint, once the story starts to pick up you will literally be standing up hitting the next page button on your keyboard.

  5. #5
    gogoer114 is offline Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3

    Post info

    excellent thread!!!

  6. #6
    lews_therin_tel is offline Senior Member Long Time Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    896

    Default

    Probably the only manga I've read that had me sitting on the edge of my seat asking my computer "Are you serious!?" and it not being a bad thing. I couldn't believe the awesome awesomeness that awed me at first, but after some reading I realized that this "nirvana"-shit might not be some much bull after all.

    No, I don't make much sense, but... I mean... It's good. Really good.

  7. #7
    yoda is offline Senior Member Respected Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    in a freezing country
    Posts
    530

    Default

    20th century boy is epic,monster is also epic but in the end id give the win to 20th century boy. I still remember acting like a fat kid on chocolate when around volume 20, it was so bad ass(i dont want to spoil anything so i cant explain why its so epic).

    overall my opinion might be biased since im also a big fan of the song, which makes it even better in my eyes, so yeah...im pretty sure that it still is a good read for pretty much anyone(especially for some one who liked monster).

  8. #8
    Urameshi-sama is offline Senior Member Community Builder
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    9,172

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dashorama View Post
    That being said, I don't want to turn this into a spoilers thread, but I'm curious what anyone who finished reading this series thought of the ending. I was a little confused personally. Did they reveal who "friend" was or are you supposed to just be making your best guess, or is it just not important anymore at that point or what? Lastly, did you like the ending?
    Kenji figured out who friend was, and explicitly pointed him out/named him at the end of 20th/midway through 21stCB. I thought the ending was creative and had a bittersweet charm to it, like the end of Samurai Champloo.
    Stolen Sig Count: 26

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin by: ForumThemes.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162