Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Your opinion on anime haters

  1. #1
    Mr. Noodles is offline Senior Member Well Known
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    In a BOX
    Posts
    267

    Default Your opinion on anime haters

    I don't wanna pop your/our bubble but yes, there are people who actually hate anime or at least dislike it. I mean yeh anime and manga are like the greatest invention that came from Japan but that doesn't mean that everybody's going to like it.

    So who are these anime haters? Typically there are 2 types of anime haters

    - The dumb, no life, possibly racist, person who assumes that anime sucks because they watch a single anime movie/episode that apparently sucked and now think that all anime sucked. They also have no viable reason/s as to why anime actually sucks and get their excuse from annoying anime fans (or weebos) or people dressed like below:



    - The other type of anime haters are actually intelligent people who criticize anime for its inferiority in animation. These haters unlike the one above have real reasons to hate on anime. There's a guy in youtube that posted 3 vids about how anime is inferior to american animation. He's a pretty reasonable guy, here's the url: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WEFIp6GYT0 Just beware that he might open your eyes to the truth of anime.

    So what's your take on these anime haters? I want you opinions
    ReDHaZexXxHaZeL likes this.
    hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.....................

  2. #2
    98abaile's Avatar
    98abaile is offline Senior Member Community Builder
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    An Englishman in a shithole somewhere in Wales.
    Posts
    7,892

    Default

    Errrr.......
    What about the normal people who just have no interest in "cartoons"?
    Or the people who horribly stereotype anime as "Japanese cartoon porn"?
    Also its accepted by most of the non anime fans that I've spoken to, that anime generally has a higher animation quality than Western animation. What people find most hard to grasp is the difference in content and the target audience. (West=tame PC stuff aimed at kids, Japan=entertainment (often graphic) aimed at teenagers)

  3. #3
    BlueDo is offline Senior Member Well Known
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Blue Falcon
    Posts
    359

    Default

    It's all a matter of taste.
    I think you're taking this too seriously.

    Quite honestly, (in terms of efforts spent on quality and catering to the audience)
    Western series > Anime > Asian Drama ~ Cartoon

    The only reason I prefer anime is because of the culture it features.
    I can't ever stomach the drama or loldeep stuff in western shows

    Anyone who tries to use facts to argue that one is better is lying to himself.


    As for people who judge anime by it's appearance.
    There also may be people who happen only to like a few select anime, and just haven't encountered them.
    Last edited by BlueDo; 08-29-2009 at 06:02 PM.

  4. #4
    bamboozler is offline Senior Member Always Around
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,181

    Default

    [QUOTE=BlueDo;723101]

    The only reason I prefer anime is because of the culture it features.
    I can't ever stomach the drama or loldeep stuff in western shows

    QUOTE]

    I think you got that the wrong way around. I find a lot of mainstream anime to be steeped in melodrama and pretentiousness but, after all, most of that is targeted towards teens and they eat that shit up.

    As far as anime haters go I'm pretty sure anyone who actually says they straight up hate anime is probably just trolling you. Anime targets a much larger audiance then western cartoons so there is likely something for everyone to appreciate, if you look hard enough, so the only reason I see for disliking the medium is for technical reasons (cheap animation, bad dubs etc).

    "Grapes and grapes!"

  5. #5
    pseudorandom is offline Senior Member Always Around
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,013

    Default

    Somehow, I feel like I'm watching a deathstar-versus-borg debate.
    Today is always the most enjoyable day. Just ask Yotsuba.

  6. #6
    nroejb is offline Senior Member Respected Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Schleswig-Holstein (Germany)
    Posts
    451

    Default

    My opinion on anime haters?
    Well sometimes it is a good think to hate something. If you do it right, hating can help you to release stress by doing so.
    To hate anime is just as okay as to hate cheese or techno music, though to a non hater it may seem a little odd (sure there are negative points about them but to hate just because of that?).
    As for me, as long as they abide by the law and donīt get on my nerves, why not, I am happy if they are.
    wood ear

  7. #7
    98abaile's Avatar
    98abaile is offline Senior Member Community Builder
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    An Englishman in a shithole somewhere in Wales.
    Posts
    7,892

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nroejb View Post
    My opinion on anime haters?
    Well sometimes it is a good think to hate something. If you do it right, hating can help you to release stress by doing so.
    To hate anime is just as okay as to hate cheese or techno music, though to a non hater it may seem a little odd (sure there are negative points about them but to hate just because of that?).
    As for me, as long as they abide by the law and donīt get on my nerves, why not, I am happy if they are.
    Seriously dude, have you ever considered politics as a carreer option?

  8. #8
    Mr. Noodles is offline Senior Member Well Known
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    In a BOX
    Posts
    267

    Default

    First of all I don't think that i am taking it seriously (imo anyways). It's just a pretty interesting issue seeing how other people seem to have extremes in liking or hating anime. I'm just interested on people opinions and if themselves have encountered a hater.

    Ultimately however, I like anime and if anyone else don't like it or even hate it, it's OK. As long as we all don't force anyone to shove down their own opinons to anyone elses.
    hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.....................

  9. #9
    nroejb is offline Senior Member Respected Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Schleswig-Holstein (Germany)
    Posts
    451

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 98abaile View Post
    Seriously dude, have you ever considered politics as a carreer option?
    Nope, thereīs nothing I hate more than hypocrites, thus that is not an option.
    Itīs also a reason I prefer the haters to hate openly rather than show false friendliness and understanding. You can never solve problems and misunderstandings If they arenīt shown openly.
    wood ear

  10. #10
    Valhallian_Snake is offline Member Frequent Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Personally, I know of four varieties of haters.

    1) Child-defenders. They grew up with diamond-hard knowledge that animation is for kids. They can stretch their minds enough to accommodate an idea of family-orientated animation film, but the moment they see some not-so-child-friendly moment of anime/manga, they charge like wild boars, protecting poor, innocent child from eastern evil. This breed goes hand-in hand with second one.

    2) Xenophobes. In medieval times they believed in dog-haded foreigners. Now the just sure that unless you lock all your doors, windows and internet channels, evil alien culture will soil people's minds in no time. Some of them are more afraid of "unbelivers" or "infidels" (read -- anyone, who does not share their religion), but the general notion is the same.

    3) Anti-Otaku. They've seen a few especially zealous (or just plain odd) Otakus, some ununderstandable anime, and made a few wrong assumptions -- like equating all anime-fans with yaoi cosplayers or underaged Naruto fans)). Now they would rather die, than have anything to do with this perverted $#%&.

    4) Vocaloids. They do not truly hate anime -- they are just dislike it VERY loudly. Sometimes it's a kind of misunderstanding -- you think that someone posting things like"Watched some "Hellsing"last evening -- what a load of overrated @_(*^()*$!!!" is white-hot from rage, while for poster it's normal means to say "I don't actually dig it, but whatever...".

    What do I think of them? Sometimes I try to explain what's wrong in common misconcepions, but mostly I just watch haters and amuse myself with passion and energy they waste. The world would definitely be far less merry place without them...

 

 
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin by: ForumThemes.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79