Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Shin_Igami is offline Senior Member Always Around
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Why do you want to know? Wutz wit U? Joo wanna R0X0RZ MY B0X0RZ?
    Posts
    1,646

    Default Gantz Story Opinion (Phase 2)

    I honestly admit I did not actually search every thread and post to find out whether or not this thread could just have been posted somewhere else. If I offended anyone, just let me know, and I’ll kill the thread.

    That said, the reason why Gantz hooked me initially was because
    1)Brutal story and graphics
    2)Refreshing drawing style
    3)When people die, they die
    4)The main character isn’t trying to save everyone and the world

    However, as the story progressed, the focus of the story slowly shifted to Kurono Kei: The evolution of an everyday, average loser faced with an impossible situation. It was interesting to see him change viz the inter arc chapters , and some of the shifts are almost worth arc jumping (e.g. pre and post Buddha arc).
    Phase 2, on the other hand, does not feature Kurono, and personally, I don’t think that if they did for Katou what they did for Kei, it would turn out as well. “Me Katou. Me Love everyone. Me Sorry for enemy. Me Save the World. Me return to little bro.” gets very old, very fast, as people who are still into bleach can tell you. Of course, I did like Gantz because of its ‘human’ main character, who lusts, masturbates, hates, etc, so some people might disagree on that point.
    Also, there does not seem to be any focus to Gantz right now. Everyone seems to be allocated more or less the same amount of page space, and who will head as Gantz main’s character is still anyones guess (Host Vampire, Cherry, Reika and Katou still seem about equally likely). Also there may no main character - the next inter arc may be dominated by how the world responds to the Alien Massacre. Not bad, but it may not be everybody’s cup of tea.

    I am probably being too hard on Phase 2 though. If this was Phase One, we’d still be at the point where we find a granny and her grandson being mercilessly mowed down by a Tanaka alien, so I guess we could still call this the “purging stage” of the manga. Basically, Gantz sets the bar this high, and if you can’t jump that high, then you don’t make it. The only person to clear the first three arcs, Kurono, delivered afterwards, just like Izumi, who probably also survived a Gantz purging. Again this is just my opinion, but I’d rather had baldie die rather than have him waste ten pages of our time trying to look cool to justify his continued existence some ten chapters later (people who read bleach know what I am talking about).
    Anyways, that’s it. Phew that was long. I may, or may not follow through with this, but I will check time and again to see what happens (uni students have obligations, ya know). Have fun.

    BTW the point of this post is to compare Phase 1 and 2, and give an opinion about the way things are heading as of the latest chapter... happy, unhappy,and please tell WHY.

    Laterz

    P/s I have been Shinigami since the first episodes of trigun BTW, almost ten years ago now. Yes, I am that old.
    Last edited by Shin_Igami; 03-11-2008 at 05:18 PM. Reason: Sorry I should have made it clearer at the start

  2. #2
    Popothepenguin is offline Senior Member Always Around
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    In the hall of past Queens of Offtopia
    Posts
    2,027

    Default

    You looked at all 53 pages of threads and read every post? I highly doubt it.

    First off, Katou is the second phases' main character. You may notice the little head of Katou where the next chapter slot is. Also he has gotten a lot more space than Reika, Cherry and vampire combined. Sure he doesn't have the interior monologic narrator in his head like Kurono does, but Oku is obviously not writing the second phase as similar to the first one.

    Second of all, the reason Katou is like this is so Oku can create his equilibrium. Kurono met his equilibrium when he accepted the caring, loving, leader part of his personality. Katou will reach his probably around the next mission, where his equilibrium will be met with a better acceptance of killing, a better friendship with his teammates, and a better sense purpose.

    Third of all, Bleach lost me after the Soul Society invasion ended. The following mission felt like a repeat of all those fights.

  3. #3
    Shin_Igami is offline Senior Member Always Around
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Why do you want to know? Wutz wit U? Joo wanna R0X0RZ MY B0X0RZ?
    Posts
    1,646

    Default

    I said I DID NOT read through all of them.
    Still you make a good point on Katou. Even though it does jump around, it comes back to Katou very often. It would be interesting to see him kill some more and more readily. Even so, since it's gantz we are talking about, he may very well die because he can't pull the trigger and poof, gone. About Host Vampire, again, it's just me, but I think it would be very interesting for the Host Vampire to be in the next inter-arc. It would be interesting to learn more about their secret vampire society, and how it fits within the wider Gantz context.
    Last edited by Shin_Igami; 03-11-2008 at 04:43 PM. Reason: Agreeing with Popo, just so you don't get the wrong idea

  4. #4
    Popothepenguin is offline Senior Member Always Around
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    In the hall of past Queens of Offtopia
    Posts
    2,027

    Default

    ^hmmm... sorry about that.

  5. #5
    Shin_Igami is offline Senior Member Always Around
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Why do you want to know? Wutz wit U? Joo wanna R0X0RZ MY B0X0RZ?
    Posts
    1,646

    Default

    Will probably be updating this every ten chapters or so, or when I read gantz through for the Millionth time and something strikes me

  6. #6
    Tetnubis's Avatar
    Tetnubis is offline Senior Member Community Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    In my house.
    Posts
    2,874

    Default

    I don't think you need your own thread to talk about the same things everybody else will be talking about, and already have done so. State your opinions in the Latest chapter thread.

    The title of that thread isn't to be taken so literal either. Maybe I should change it to latest arc discussion? Or just general.


  7. #7
    Shin_Igami is offline Senior Member Always Around
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Why do you want to know? Wutz wit U? Joo wanna R0X0RZ MY B0X0RZ?
    Posts
    1,646

    Default

    Okay, I guess you are right. Latest chapter discussion is often too detail focused for me, especially in a manga like gantz where the story only changes over 8 to 10 chapters. I am more concerned with global shifts in the direction of the manga than the minutia that interests a good many people so having a thread for latest arc discussion makes more sense. Would be happy if you could change the title. Thanks man. Again sorry if I offended. I am painfully aware than i am a Junior Member + Newbie.
    Last edited by Shin_Igami; 03-12-2008 at 02:57 PM. Reason: Forgot to apologize formally

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin by: ForumThemes.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162