RISK: Fall 1909
START TIME: tues 28, 2006.
END TIME: thurs 30, 12pm EST
START TIME: thurs 30, 2006 12pm EST
END TIME: fri 1, 2006 1AM EST.
The board is a map of Europe showing political boundaries as they existed at the beginning of the 20th century, divided into fifty-six land regions and nineteen sea regions.
Each player other than Russia begins the game with three units (armies and fleets); Russia has four units (two armies and two fleets) to compensate for its larger area and number of neighbours.
Only one unit at a time may occupy a given map region.
Thirty-four of the land regions contain supply centers, corresponding to major centers of industry or commerce (e.g., "London," "Rome,"). The number of supply centers a player controls determines the total number of armies and fleets a player may have on the board, and as players gain and lose control of different centers, they may build and remove units accordingly.
At the beginning of the game, there are twelve "neutral" (unoccupied) supply centers; these are all typically captured within the first few moves, allowing all the powers to ramp up their military strength. Thereafter the game becomes zero sum, with any gains in a player's strength coming at the expense of a rival.
Players who control no supply centers are eliminated from the game, and victory is achieved if a player controls eighteen of the thirty-four supply centers.
Diplomacy is turn-based - movement turns.
First, we have a Negotiation period in which players entice, wheedle, bluff, cajole, and threaten each other in an attempt to form favorable partnerships.
Secret negotiations and secret agreements are explicitly allowed, but no agreements of any kind are enforceable.
This period shall last 48 hours.
After the negotiation period is over, it is the Orders Period where players secretly write orders for each unit to the host. These orders are revealed simultaneously and simultaneously executed.
Choice of orders include
1)move- to any space adjacent to the unit's current location
2)support- assist the move of a different unit moving into a space adjacent to the unit's current location, or assist in the defense of an adjacent space
3)hold- do nothing
Armies may only occupy land regions
fleets may only occupy sea regions and land regions which border the sea.
Fleets and armies in combination can execute a "convoy," which allows transport of an army across either one (or multiple) bodies of water to a distant land square.
One Fleet per sea space traversed is required if multiple bodies of water are to be traversed.
Since only one unit can occupy any particular game space, conflicts (such as two armies ordered to enter the same space), are resolved according to rules determining how much "support" a unit has for its movement. When two units attempt to occupy the same region, the one with more support wins. The greatest concentration of force is always victorious;
If the forces are equal a standoff results and the units remain in their original positions.
If a supporting unit is attacked (except by the unit against which the support is directed), the support is nullified, which allows units to affect the outcome of conflicts in regions not directly adjacent.
Occasionally these conceptually simple rules result in situations which are difficult to adjudicate, or even paradoxical.
This period shall last 24 hours.
After this turn, previously uncontrolled supply centers become owned by the occupying player, and each power's supply center total is recalculated. At that point players with fewer supply centers than units on the board must disband units, while players with more supply centers than units on the board are entitled to build units.
Units may only be built in that player's "Home" centers, that is, those centers with which each Great Power begins the game. Therefore, a player may not build units in any captured "neutral" center or in another player's "Home" centers.
Then, a new cycle will begin. Each cycle is written in terms of Fall and Spring
England (dark blue): A Liverpool, F London, F Edinburgh
Germany (black) : A Berlin, A Munich, F Kiel
Russia (White): A Moscow, A Warsaw F St.Petersburg, F Sevastopol
Turkey (yellow): A Constantinople, A Smyrna, F Ankara
Austria-Hungary (Red): A Vienna, A Budapest, F Trieste
Italy (Green): A Rome, A Venice, F Naples
France (Light Blue): A Paris, A Marseilles, F Brest
A = army = circles
F = Fleets = squares/rectangles
The tweleve remaining supply centers are not occupied at the start of the game
On each move, each Great Power may order all its units, or some, or none of them
A unit may be ordered to do only one thing on each move. An army may be ordered to move, stand, or support; a fleet may be ordered to move, stand, support, or convoy.
An army may move to any adjacent province, unless this move causes it to conflict with another unit under the rule that no two units may occupy the same space ath the same time. A fleet may move to any body of water or coastal province which is adjacent to its current location, unless this move causes it to conflict with another unit.
When a fleet is in a coastal province, the warships are assumed to be at any point along the ocast of that province. the fleet may move to an adjacent coastal province only if it is adjacent along the coastline, so that the vessels could move down the coast to that province. For example, a fleet may move from Rome to Naples or Rome to Tuscany, but not from Rome to Venice because these provinces, although coastal and adjacent, are not adjacent along a stretch of coastline.
Units may not move to islands, except to England, and may not move to Switzerland.
KIEL AND CONSTANTINOPLE. By virtue of the waterways through these two provinces, fleets may enter them along one coast, and on another move, leave from the other coast. Armies may also pass into and out of these provinces, freely bridgeing these waterways. Note that this does not mean that pieces may jump over these provinces.
OTHER PROVINCES HAVING TWO COASTS (Bulgaria, Spain, and St. Petersburg). If a fleet enters one of these provinces, it enters along one coast, and may leave only from that coast. It nevertheless occupies the entire province. If a fleet is ordered to one of these provinces, and it is possible for the fleet to move to either coast, the order must specify which coast, or the fleet does not move. A fleet which may move to one of these provinces may "support" in such provinces without regard for the separation of the coastline into two stretches.
SWEDEN AND DENMARK. An army or fleet may move from Sweden to Denmark or vice versa. A fleet moving from the Baltic Sea to the Skagerrak or vice versa must first move to Sweden or Denmark. Note also that Denmark does not border on Berlin.
CONFLICTS. If two units are ordered to the same space, neither may move. If a unit is not ordered to move, or is prevented from miving, and another unit is ordered to its space, that unit may not move. If two units are ordered each to the space the other occupies, neither may move. The three situations are called "stand-offs". Like the other rules governing conflicts, these rules apply whether the units involved are armies or fleets, which are essentially equal in power, and different only in the places to which they may move.
THE ORDERS: (in more depth)
THE SUPPORT ORDER- A unit may give up its move in order to support another unit trying to hold or enter a space. This space must be one to which the supporting unit could have made a move if not opposed by other units. that is, the space must be adjacent to that in which the supporting unit is located, and must be suitable for an army or fleet, whichever the supporting unit may be. Fleets may support armies, and vice versa.
A unit moves with the strength of itself and all its supports. Unless it is opposed by a single unit equally well or better supported, it may make its move. Equally well supported units which conflict in the situation follow the same rules.
A unit which otherwise would have remained in the province thus occupied is dislodged and must "retreat". The exception is that an order to move, with support, against a unit belonging to the same country as the moving or supporting unit is of no effect; that is, a country may not force one of its own units to retreat.
ATTACK: A move, order correctly given
CUTTING SUPPORTS. If a unit ordered to support in a given province is attacked from a different province the unit disregards its order to support, "turns to face its attacker", and defends its own position. The unit that was to have received support then, of course, does not receive it.
Example 1: Germany: Army Prussia to Warsaw, Army Silesia supports Prussia to Warsaw. Russia: Army Warsaw stands, Army Bohemia to Silesia. No pieces move. the army in Silesia defends itself from the attack from Bohemia, leaving the Prussian army unsupported in its attack on the Warsaw army.
Example 2: Germay: same as above. Russia: Army Warsaw to Silesia. The Prussian army moves to Warsaw, and the Russian army must reteat. The unit ordered to support (the Silesian army) in a given province (Warsaw) was not attacked from a different province (from Warsaw). There is no way the single Russian army can hold Warsaw against this supported attack.
Note that it is only a support order which is nullified by attack from the side. A unit ordered to move, even if unsuccessful, still may cut a support or strand off a single unit, even though its own position is attacked with support and it is consequently dislodged.
Note that a unit does not have to be next to the unit it is supporting; it must be next to the space in which it is delivering support.
STANDING AND RECEIVING SUPPORT. A unit not ordered to move may be supported in its position to resist attacks of equally well supported units. Such a unit may give support as it stands, if so ordered; but a single attack will still cut the support it gives.
If a piece is ordered to move, and another piece is ordered to support the first piece in its original position "provided it fails to move", the support order is void. The player must elect whether to attempt a move or to stand and receive support.
THE RETREAT: After all the orders have been read, the conflicts resolved, and the moves made, any dislodged unit makes its retreat. It must move to a space to which it could ordinarily move if unopposed; that is, to an adjacent space suitable to an army or to a fleet, as the case may be. The unit may not retreat, however, to any space that is occupied, not to the space the attacker came from, not to a space which was left vacant due to a stand-off on the move. If there is no such place, the retreating unit is annihilated and its marker removed from the board. An army may not be convoyed during a retreat.
THE CONVOY ORDER
CONVOYING AN ARMY ACROSS A BODY OF WATER. A fleet in a body of water may convoy an army from any province on the coast of that body to any other province on the coast of that body. To do this, the army must be ordered to the province and the fleet must be ordered to convoy it. The order to the fleet must give both the location and the destination of the army being convoyed.
If the fleet is dislodged on the move, the army may not move; but an attack on the fleet, which does not dislodge it, has no effect on the convoy. The fleet may not move or support during the convoying move. If two or more fleets control adjacent bodies of water, the army may be convoyed through all these bodies on one move.
GAINING AND LOSING UNITS
OCCUPYING SUPPLY CENTERS. Occupation of a supply center by a Great Power occurs when one of its units is located in that supply center immediately after a Fall move, complete with retreats, if any, has been played. Once occupation has been established, the center may be left vacant as long as the player sees fit, and it will still suplly one of his units, unless another Great Power establishes occupation of it.
After the Fall moves have been played, and the retreats, if any, made, each player's number of units is adjusted to equal the number of supply centers his country controls. If he has to remove units, he chooses which ones to remove. If he gains units, he mya place them, one in each unoccupied supply center in his home country only. (provided such supply centers are still under his control.) He must specify a fleet on an army in a coastal supply center. (If Russia builds a fleet in St. Petersburg, Russia must specify on which coast it is to appear.) If his home supply centers are all occupied by his own units or under foreign domination, a player must wait until the next Fall move on which this situation can be corrected to raise any unit to which he may be entitled; though by occupation of supply centers he may reduce the forces of some other country. (From this it should be clear that if he has lost all his home supply centers, he may still fight on with the units and supply cneters remaining under his control, but he may not gain units untill he recaptures a home supply center and leaves it vacant at the close of a Fall move.
The game is read in cycles of Fall and Spring.
If two or more units are ordered to the same space, none of them may move. If a unit is not ordered to move, or is prevented from moving, and other units are ordered to its space, those other units may not move. If two units are ordered, each to the space the other occupies, neither may move. These three situations are called "stand-offs." Like the other rules governing conflicts, these rules apply whether the units involved are armies or fleets, which are essentially equal in power and different only in the spaces to which they may move.
How to win: A game of Risk ends either when one player controls an outright majority of supply centres (18 on a standard map), or when all remaining players agree to a draw.
England- True_panda, kazechrno, Aikidio
Germany- Quiraikotsu, jamie1990
France- Cold-nite, Talamere, silverwmoon
Italy- Ishman, Hanul, Spurgu
Austria-Hungary- Chizabubble, Lunar_Shadow, martyr3810
Russia- shautieh, Adonai, Aurora86, kaom
Turkey- Flash, Dante Obscuri, Spermworm
The Map: (which will be photoshoped after the end of each turn to show where are everyone's stuff)
LAST ROUND'S MOVE:
1)These fleets are jumping too much in my opinion and are confusing me. For now on, fleets can only move along the coasts of wherever in their ocean and in their adjacent ocean in one turn.
2) The counting of new armies/fleets will be every-other fall, because I just realized that some may lose armies/fleets after this round without fulling be able to exploit their newly made armies/fleets.
ex: Next times we will count for new armies/fleets are at the end of Fall 1903, Fall 1905, Fall 1907, Fall 1909, ect. (every odd fall)
Well.. If you read my post in the last round, you would’ve noticed I told you that you can build units prematurely. Apologies. Now you can tell me where to add them.
Prussia => attacks => Warsaw
Cpr: failed. Stalemate. Germany & Russia vs. Turkey’s 2 armies
Denmark => attacks => livonia
Sweden => supports => Prussia
Cpr: support unnecessary.
St Petersbourg => attacks => moscow
F. Napoli=>Attack=>North Africa
Cpr: failed. France 2. Italy 1. F. Napoli is forced into retreat by Turkey. Retreats to Albania.
Army Tyrolia => Move => Bohemia
Army Vienna => Support => Army Tyrolia into Bohemia
Army Galicia => Support => Army Warsaw into Silesia
Army Warsaw => Attack => Silesia
Cpr: failed. Stalemate. Germany & Russia vs. Turkey’s 2 armies
Army Moscow => Support => Army Ukraine into Warsaw
Cpr: support failed. Attacked by St. Petersburg.
Army Ukraine => Move => Warsaw
Cpr: failed. Still occupied
Army Bulgaria => Move => Serbia
Fleet Greece => Support => Fleet Albania into Rome
Fleet Tunisia => Support => Fleet Albania into Rome
Fleet Smyrna => Move => Napoli
Fleet Constantinople => Support => Fleet Smyrna into Napoli
A Tuscany attack Roma
Cpr: failed. Italy 1. Turkey 2. vs France 2.
A Pietmont attack Venezia
Cpr: failed. Italy 3. vs France 2.
A Burgandy attack Ruhr
F Tuscany attack Greek
F Roma attack NA
F Spain support Tuscany > Roma
F Breast support Roma > NA
F Portugal attack Tunisea
A. silesia -> support -> A. prussia -> attack -> A warsaw.
Army = circle
Fleet = rectangles
**P.S. FOR CONVENIENCE, PLEASE WRITE ORDERS LIKE THIS.
oh, and it'd be nice if in the topic you wrote "Turkey's order's" or "Germany's orders" cause I didn't memorize which team I plopped all of you on. =P
***P.P.S. If you’re gonna write a name, write it CORRECTLY.
BY THE WAY, ALL FINAL ORDERS SHOULD BE PM TO ME BY ONE REPRESENTATIVE FROM YOUR GROUP!
amazing... I can't believe Germany submitted orders this round.
well I thought I would have been dead from having no supply centres for a long time now.
I just checked on the map to see how the other countries were doing, lo and behold I still had an army ^^.
I guess it was just in time.
I WONT ADMIT DEFEAT!
GO MY SECRET HIDDEN ITALIAN AGENTS! CRUSH THE HEARTS OF OUR ENEMY!
(CPR commence order 322-mamma-mia!)
@jamie : too bad turkey was being conscientious this time :p
it was a nice try indeed :)
hehe... we have started our movement towards victory... BEWARE!
i have no idea wth i did this round
im not focusing anymore
im getting lazier every turn because it seems im the last one in my team thats actually assisting in making moves
i mean all along ive been probably the many move designer but still i want to support from the other guys
hahahah..... no wonder... >_<
my newest plan
ima move all our fleets from the Med and move them towards russias zone
we conquer russia then we turkey attack from above "
if no one from my team replies ill go thru with it
Dios Mio Mwahahahah, there I was, trying to protect/support the Germans this turn in case France and Russia might attack it to get into Warsaw, but somehow Dante was showing a little bit of skepticism in that plan and so I changed it, Lol
And you think you can stab Turkey in the back? you German back stabbing bastards,
that’s really sad of you for making yourself as low as the French.
(oh no, I’m not talking about you Shautieh, remember that you are Russian :p)
Now since you already revealed your true motives/face, prepare yourself for the ultimate torture!
hmm is that your secret weapon Russia? AKA back stabbing super Tux? :D
Lol CPR, I agree with the final results but I disagree with the reasoning (how it works) behind them. :)
anyways about our ship in Syria, it is a ghost ship, it can appear anywhere and disappear anytime, so don’t be confusewd.