Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 53
  1. #1
    cpr's Avatar
    cpr is offline Super Moderator Community Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2005

    Default RISK: Spring 1901

    Fall 1900.
    Spring 1901

    Negotiations period
    START TIME: Wed September 27, 2006. 1AM EST
    END TIME: Fri Sept 29, 2006, 1AM EST


    The board is a map of Europe showing political boundaries as they existed at the beginning of the 20th century, divided into fifty-six land regions and nineteen sea regions.

    Each player other than Russia begins the game with three units (armies and fleets); Russia has four units (two armies and two fleets) to compensate for its larger area and number of neighbours.
    Only one unit at a time may occupy a given map region.

    Thirty-four of the land regions contain supply centers, corresponding to major centers of industry or commerce (e.g., "London," "Rome,"). The number of supply centers a player controls determines the total number of armies and fleets a player may have on the board, and as players gain and lose control of different centers, they may build and remove units accordingly.

    At the beginning of the game, there are twelve "neutral" (unoccupied) supply centers; these are all typically captured within the first few moves, allowing all the powers to ramp up their military strength. Thereafter the game becomes zero sum, with any gains in a player's strength coming at the expense of a rival.

    Players who control no supply centers are eliminated from the game, and victory is achieved if a player controls eighteen of the thirty-four supply centers.

    Diplomacy is turn-based - movement turns.

    First, we have a Negotiation period in which players entice, wheedle, bluff, cajole, and threaten each other in an attempt to form favorable partnerships.

    Secret negotiations and secret agreements are explicitly allowed, but no agreements of any kind are enforceable.

    This period shall last 48 hours.

    After the negotiation period is over, it is the Orders Period where players secretly write orders for each unit to the host. These orders are revealed simultaneously and simultaneously executed.

    Choice of orders include

    1)move- to any space adjacent to the unit's current location

    2)support- assist the move of a different unit moving into a space adjacent to the unit's current location, or assist in the defense of an adjacent space

    3)hold- do nothing

    Armies may only occupy land regions
    fleets may only occupy sea regions and land regions which border the sea.

    Fleets and armies in combination can execute a "convoy," which allows transport of an army across either one (or multiple) bodies of water to a distant land square.

    One Fleet per sea space traversed is required if multiple bodies of water are to be traversed.

    Since only one unit can occupy any particular game space, conflicts (such as two armies ordered to enter the same space), are resolved according to rules determining how much "support" a unit has for its movement. When two units attempt to occupy the same region, the one with more support wins. The greatest concentration of force is always victorious;

    If the forces are equal a standoff results and the units remain in their original positions.

    If a supporting unit is attacked (except by the unit against which the support is directed), the support is nullified, which allows units to affect the outcome of conflicts in regions not directly adjacent.
    Occasionally these conceptually simple rules result in situations which are difficult to adjudicate, or even paradoxical.

    This period shall last 24 hours.

    After this turn, previously uncontrolled supply centers become owned by the occupying player, and each power's supply center total is recalculated. At that point players with fewer supply centers than units on the board must disband units, while players with more supply centers than units on the board are entitled to build units.

    Units may only be built in that player's "Home" centers, that is, those centers with which each Great Power begins the game. Therefore, a player may not build units in any captured "neutral" center or in another player's "Home" centers.

    Then, a new cycle will begin. Each cycle is written in terms of Fall and Spring

    Starting position:

    England (dark blue): A Liverpool, F London, F Edinburgh
    Germany (black) : A Berlin, A Munich, F Kiel
    Russia (White): A Moscow, A Warsaw F St.Petersburg, F Sevastopol
    Turkey (yellow): A Constantinople, A Smyrna, F Ankara
    Austria-Hungary (Red): A Vienna, A Budapest, F Trieste
    Italy (Green): A Rome, A Venice, F Naples
    France (Light Blue): A Paris, A Marseilles, F Brest

    A = army = circles
    F = Fleets = squares/rectangles

    The tweleve remaining supply centers are not occupied at the start of the game

    On each move, each Great Power may order all its units, or some, or none of them

    A unit may be ordered to do only one thing on each move. An army may be ordered to move, stand, or support; a fleet may be ordered to move, stand, support, or convoy.

    An army may move to any adjacent province, unless this move causes it to conflict with another unit under the rule that no two units may occupy the same space ath the same time. A fleet may move to any body of water or coastal province which is adjacent to its current location, unless this move causes it to conflict with another unit.

    When a fleet is in a coastal province, the warships are assumed to be at any point along the ocast of that province. the fleet may move to an adjacent coastal province only if it is adjacent along the coastline, so that the vessels could move down the coast to that province. For example, a fleet may move from Rome to Naples or Rome to Tuscany, but not from Rome to Venice because these provinces, although coastal and adjacent, are not adjacent along a stretch of coastline.

    Units may not move to islands, except to England, and may not move to Switzerland.

    . By virtue of the waterways through these two provinces, fleets may enter them along one coast, and on another move, leave from the other coast. Armies may also pass into and out of these provinces, freely bridgeing these waterways. Note that this does not mean that pieces may jump over these provinces.

    OTHER PROVINCES HAVING TWO COASTS (Bulgaria, Spain, and St. Petersburg). If a fleet enters one of these provinces, it enters along one coast, and may leave only from that coast. It nevertheless occupies the entire province. If a fleet is ordered to one of these provinces, and it is possible for the fleet to move to either coast, the order must specify which coast, or the fleet does not move. A fleet which may move to one of these provinces may "support" in such provinces without regard for the separation of the coastline into two stretches.

    SWEDEN AND DENMARK. An army or fleet may move from Sweden to Denmark or vice versa. A fleet moving from the Baltic Sea to the Skagerrak or vice versa must first move to Sweden or Denmark. Note also that Denmark does not border on Berlin.

    If two units are ordered to the same space, neither may move. If a unit is not ordered to move, or is prevented from miving, and another unit is ordered to its space, that unit may not move. If two units are ordered each to the space the other occupies, neither may move. The three situations are called "stand-offs". Like the other rules governing conflicts, these rules apply whether the units involved are armies or fleets, which are essentially equal in power, and different only in the places to which they may move.

    THE ORDERS: (in more depth)

    THE SUPPORT ORDER- A unit may give up its move in order to support another unit trying to hold or enter a space. This space must be one to which the supporting unit could have made a move if not opposed by other units. that is, the space must be adjacent to that in which the supporting unit is located, and must be suitable for an army or fleet, whichever the supporting unit may be. Fleets may support armies, and vice versa.

    A unit moves with the strength of itself and all its supports. Unless it is opposed by a single unit equally well or better supported, it may make its move. Equally well supported units which conflict in the situation follow the same rules.

    A unit which otherwise would have remained in the province thus occupied is dislodged and must "retreat". The exception is that an order to move, with support, against a unit belonging to the same country as the moving or supporting unit is of no effect; that is, a country may not force one of its own units to retreat.

    ATTACK: A move, order correctly given

    CUTTING SUPPORTS. If a unit ordered to support in a given province is attacked from a different province the unit disregards its order to support, "turns to face its attacker", and defends its own position. The unit that was to have received support then, of course, does not receive it.

    Example 1: Germany: Army Prussia to Warsaw, Army Silesia supports Prussia to Warsaw. Russia: Army Warsaw stands, Army Bohemia to Silesia. No pieces move. the army in Silesia defends itself from the attack from Bohemia, leaving the Prussian army unsupported in its attack on the Warsaw army.
    Example 2: Germay: same as above. Russia: Army Warsaw to Silesia. The Prussian army moves to Warsaw, and the Russian army must reteat. The unit ordered to support (the Silesian army) in a given province (Warsaw) was not attacked from a different province (from Warsaw). There is no way the single Russian army can hold Warsaw against this supported attack.

    Note that it is only a support order which is nullified by attack from the side. A unit ordered to move, even if unsuccessful, still may cut a support or strand off a single unit, even though its own position is attacked with support and it is consequently dislodged.

    Note that a unit does not have to be next to the unit it is supporting; it must be next to the space in which it is delivering support.

    STANDING AND RECEIVING SUPPORT. A unit not ordered to move may be supported in its position to resist attacks of equally well supported units. Such a unit may give support as it stands, if so ordered; but a single attack will still cut the support it gives.
    If a piece is ordered to move, and another piece is ordered to support the first piece in its original position "provided it fails to move", the support order is void. The player must elect whether to attempt a move or to stand and receive support.

    After all the orders have been read, the conflicts resolved, and the moves made, any dislodged unit makes its retreat. It must move to a space to which it could ordinarily move if unopposed; that is, to an adjacent space suitable to an army or to a fleet, as the case may be. The unit may not retreat, however, to any space that is occupied, not to the space the attacker came from, not to a space which was left vacant due to a stand-off on the move. If there is no such place, the retreating unit is annihilated and its marker removed from the board. An army may not be convoyed during a retreat.

    CONVOYING AN ARMY ACROSS A BODY OF WATER. A fleet in a body of water may convoy an army from any province on the coast of that body to any other province on the coast of that body. To do this, the army must be ordered to the province and the fleet must be ordered to convoy it. The order to the fleet must give both the location and the destination of the army being convoyed.

    If the fleet is dislodged on the move, the army may not move; but an attack on the fleet, which does not dislodge it, has no effect on the convoy. The fleet may not move or support during the convoying move. If two or more fleets control adjacent bodies of water, the army may be convoyed through all these bodies on one move.


    OCCUPYING SUPPLY CENTERS. Occupation of a supply center by a Great Power occurs when one of its units is located in that supply center immediately after a Fall move, complete with retreats, if any, has been played. Once occupation has been established, the center may be left vacant as long as the player sees fit, and it will still suplly one of his units, unless another Great Power establishes occupation of it.

    After the Fall moves have been played, and the retreats, if any, made, each player's number of units is adjusted to equal the number of supply centers his country controls. If he has to remove units, he chooses which ones to remove. If he gains units, he mya place them, one in each unoccupied supply center in his home country only. (provided such supply centers are still under his control.) He must specify a fleet on an army in a coastal supply center. (If Russia builds a fleet in St. Petersburg, Russia must specify on which coast it is to appear.) If his home supply centers are all occupied by his own units or under foreign domination, a player must wait until the next Fall move on which this situation can be corrected to raise any unit to which he may be entitled; though by occupation of supply centers he may reduce the forces of some other country. (From this it should be clear that if he has lost all his home supply centers, he may still fight on with the units and supply cneters remaining under his control, but he may not gain units untill he recaptures a home supply center and leaves it vacant at the close of a Fall move.

    The game is read in cycles of Fall and Spring.

    How to win:
    A game of Risk ends either when one player controls an outright majority of supply centres (18 on a standard map), or when all remaining players agree to a draw.

    The Teams:
    England- MojoMunkeez, True_panda, kazechrno
    - Quiraikotsu, pentaelemental, jamie1990
    France- Cold-nite, Talamere, silverwmoon
    Italy- Ishman, Hanul, Spurgu
    Austria-Hungary- Chizabubble, Lunar_Shadow, martyr3810
    Russia- shautieh, Adonai, Aurora86, kaom
    Turkey- Flash, Dante Obscuri, Spermworm

    The Map: (which will be photoshoped after the end of each turn to show where are everyone's stuff)

    **NOTE: pentaelemental has dropped out from Germany. Germany, you are one man down. (You can still do it though) ^_^

    Germany: (black)
    F Kiel => attack => Denmark

    A. Berlin => attack => Kiel
    A. Munich => attack => Silesia

    Turkey: (yellow)
    A.Constantinople => attack =>Bulgaria
    A. Smyrna => attack => Armenia
    F. Ankara =>hold

    France: (light blue)
    A. Marseilles => attack => Spain
    A. Paris => attack => Burgundy
    F. Breast => attack => English Channel.

    Italy: (green)
    A. Venice => hold
    A. Roma => attack => Apulia
    F. Naples => attack => Tunisia

    Russia: (white)
    F. Stevastpol => attack => Rumania
    A. Moscow => attack => Ukraine
    F. Saint Petersburg => attack =>Livonia
    A. Warsaw => attack => Galicia

    England (dark blue):
    A Liverpool, =>hold
    F London, =>hold
    F Edinburgh =>hold

    Austria-Hungary (Red):
    A Vienna, =>hold
    A Budapest, => hold
    F Trieste =>hold

    Army = circle
    Fleet = rectangles


    ***P.P.S. If you’re gonna write a name, write it CORRECTLY.


  2. #2
    Talamare is offline Senior Member Always Around
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Belem do Para, Brasil


    how did our army magically become a fleet? in spain

  3. #3
    cpr's Avatar
    cpr is offline Super Moderator Community Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2005


    sorry. My bad.

    Edit: fixed

  4. #4
    Talamare is offline Senior Member Always Around
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Belem do Para, Brasil


    are fleets allowed to conquer land?

  5. #5
    cpr's Avatar
    cpr is offline Super Moderator Community Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2005


    I know it's called Diplomacy.

    Though.. I thought Risk was a cooler name

  6. #6
    Spurgu is offline Senior Member Always Around
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    In your pants. OO BOY


    Lol same goes for our apulia, why on earth we would attack our own lands.
    Last edited by Spurgu; 09-27-2006 at 12:45 AM.

  7. #7
    shautieh's Avatar
    shautieh is offline Senior Member Community Builder
    Join Date
    Mar 2005


    i may be nit picking, but it would be great if the supply centers controlled bu one's country would be colored with the country color

  8. #8
    Aurora86 is offline Senior Member Long Time Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    On campus dodging lectures :p


    Yup shautieh
    I still wanna be pink *pouts*
    interesting so far
    Can't wait til it gets heated

  9. #9
    Talamare is offline Senior Member Always Around
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Belem do Para, Brasil


    Quote Originally Posted by erachima
    Yes, they can, provided they are coastal regions.

    Also, this game isn't Risk, it's called Diplomacy. And it's awesome, but it's annoying as hell to play over the internet.
    crap didnt know that
    if i did id move breast into portugal

  10. #10
    Quiraikotsu is offline Senior Member Community Builder
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Behind you... BWHAHAHAH


    okay... um, question.
    say if a unit was on a part of the map with a supply centre.. then it moved to another part with a supply centre, would the supply centre they just left still belong to them?


Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBulletin Skin by:
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2015 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163