Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Arefel is offline Member Frequent Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    43

    Default A little question about reviews...

    While they are supposed to be informative are we supposed to give a plot summary or just review the chapter to the best of our ability without revealing what is going on?

    Any feedback is appreciated.

    Oh and what happened to D.Gray Man? I loved that series! XD

  2. #2
    Kevin Shiel's Avatar
    Kevin Shiel is offline Administrator Community Builder
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3,404

    Default Re: A little question about reviews...

    Quote Originally Posted by Arefel
    While they are supposed to be informative are we supposed to give a plot summary or just review the chapter to the best of our ability without revealing what is going on?

    Any feedback is appreciated.

    Oh and what happened to D.Gray Man? I loved that series! XD
    Just tell a little information about the chapters that you review, I did cut some slack to some people since we did not get many reviews from members.

    It is up to you to decide how much to reveal about the chapters.

    D.Gray-Man is still on our site.

  3. #3
    sharked is offline Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3

    Default

    imo i dont think posting s plot summary in the review section is a nice thing to do... it may spoil any surprise that may be in tt chapter as i feel tt ppl usually would read the reviews before reading the chapter itself.

    i personally feel a review should consist of what one feels about the chapter and if mentions of any scenes in the chapter is required, it should be done without detailed descriptions. Important plot twist or surprises should definitely not be spoiled

    But u dun have to listen to the person who wrote crappy reviews that reads more like a trailer haha

    PS: I posted a review(trailer) on Deathnote 79, i wrote a plot summary following my actual review... wanted to delete the summary before submitting, but due to my sleepiness i think i forgot to do so... its still being processed, i wonder i'll get to edit it...

  4. #4
    Arefel is offline Member Frequent Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    43

    Default

    That's what I was worried about too actually. I like to read a review or two before I get into a series and wouldn't like to view a huge spoiler from the middle of a series. That's why I wondered if there were any guidelines.

    I can see not having them now though because of the sparse number of reviews in general but would like to see some sort of guideline in the future.

  5. #5
    jyunjoo91 is offline Member Frequent Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Yes, but the owner prolly has worked hard to get that thing on the site and if ppl don't want spoilers, they can jsut .... not read the summary thingies :P
    anime- the best form of entertainment

  6. #6
    Arefel is offline Member Frequent Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    43

    Default

    That's kind of block headed.

    It's like, "I worked hard to help everyone but now I don't want anyone to be helped." It defeats the purpose of doing it if no one is going to use it because they're afraid of spoilers.

  7. #7
    Kevin Shiel's Avatar
    Kevin Shiel is offline Administrator Community Builder
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3,404

    Default

    I would assume naturally that the chapter reviews might spoil things for someone who has not already read the chapter.

    You are not forced to read the chapter review.

  8. #8
    sharked is offline Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3

    Default

    some bit of spoilers maybe, but a whole chapter's summary? tt'll not jus "spoil some stuff", tt'll spoil the whole chapter, does thee agree not?
    of cos, different ppl has different preferences, some do not mind the spoilers while others(like me) looks forward to as much as a 100% enjoyment of the twist and turns of every chapter of a comic

  9. #9
    cpr's Avatar
    cpr
    cpr is offline Super Moderator Community Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    4,952

    Default

    let's simply put it like this:


    "Read Reviews at your own risk!"


    if you don't like how the author decided to use too much plot, than don't even think about clicking the reviews button. fyi- if i'm writing a review, there's gonna be a big chunk of plot cause i like it that way.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
vBulletin Skin by: ForumThemes.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162